Meet The 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup Match Officials

There are some old and some new faces in the nine-member panel selected to referee at the Women’s Rugby World Cup in Ireland from 9-26 August.

Four of the team are no strangers to the Women’s Rugby World Cup stage.

Amy Perrett refereed the 2014 final between England and Canada, and the two English ladies, Sara Cox and Claire Hodnett along with Alhambra Nievas of Spain, were also among the match officials for that wonderful tournament in France.

World Rugby High Performance 15s Match Official Manager Alain Rolland said:

Women’s Rugby World Cup 2017 is shaping up to be a massive tournament and the match officials are preparing with that in mind”.

“I’m really happy with the performance of those selected over the last season and it was very difficult to narrow it down to a panel of nine referees and five assistant referees”.

“The competition at the top-level of the women’s game has grown rapidly, even since the last World Cup in 2014, and I’m confident the panel will match that and perform well at the elite level”

So here are the officials for what should be the biggest and most widely covered women’s rugby World Cup of all time.

Alhambra Nievas (Spain) 🇪🇸

Joy Neville (Ireland)

Aimee Barrett (South Africa)

Sara Cox (England)

Amy Perrett (Australia)

Claire Hodnett (England)

Graham Cooper (Australia)

Tim Baker (Hong Kong)

Sean Gallagher (Ireland)



Assistant Referees

Rose Labreche (Canada)

Beatrice Benvenuti (Italy)

Marie Lematte (France)

Helen O’Reilly (Ireland)

Ian Tempest (England)

Hollie Davidson (Scotland)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s