Emmanuel Macron Leads France’s Rugby World Cup 2023 Bid

On September 25, In London, President Emmanuel Macron will head the French delegation to submit his country’s bid to host the 2023 Rugby World Cup before the World Rugby Council.

Bernard Laporte, president of  the France Rugby federation stated:

“He (Macron) will have an active role, he will have the floor, it’s clear that it adds weight to our bid”

Macron is a big sports fan he attended the Top 14 final at Stade de France in June, and was a pretty good footballer himself back in the seventies.

France will provide World Rugby with two financial guarantees.

Firstly the French government will guarantee 171 million Euros, approx. £150 million, which is greater than the sum required to have the right to bid for the tournament.

“This commitment reflects the support of the President of the Republic for the candidacy of France for the organization of the 2023 World Cup,” said Bernard Laporte.

The tournament fee will be largely covered by the forecast revenue of 477 million Euros, of which 373 million will come from ticket sales.

The second financial guarantee is provided by a major French private bank to cover commitments of the organisation costs of the tournament, amounting to 236 million euros (the equivalent of 207 million pounds sterling).

Claude Atcher, director of the bid says, “These two financial commitments give credibility to the dossier presented by France which presents a most attractive and secure economic offer, which will benefit the whole of the world rugby.”

In total, the France bid provides World Rugby with more than 400 million euros of firm, unconditional and irrevocable financial guarantees.

Nine modern stadiums built or renovated for 2016 Euros, with top class media facilities are another huge plus of the French bid.

France plan to run the 2023 tournament from 15 September to 4 November with matches in Lille, Paris, Nantes, Bordeaux, Toulouse, Saint-Etienne, Lyon, Nice and Marseille.

It’s a pretty impressive bid which South Africa, and Ireland in particular will struggle to match.

The “winner” be announced on November 15 2017.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s