Will It Be Third Time Lucky For Harlequins Women ?

Sunday April 29 2018, with 81:16 on the clock Quins are on the attack, trailing 24-20, they have recovered from a poor first half with tries from Holly Myers, Jess Breach and a touchdown from Debs McCormack that has given them all the momentum.

As they mount a final attack, just one score and the Premiership title will be theirs, one bounce of the ball, one refereeing decision could change everything, but a knock on just outside Saracens twenty-two brings the game to an abrupt and gut wrenching end.

That blustery icy cold day at Ealing will never be forgotten by Quins and their fans, or indeed by this correspondent.

The team and management vowed, almost immediately, that they would return for the 2019 final, which they did, but an uncharacteristically flat performance resulted in defeat, which meant that for the second year in succession the title was won by Saracens.

No Premiership final took place in 2020 due to the COVID pandemic, so here we are again in 2021 for yet another Harlequins v Saracens final.

There has been a huge change in the Quins personnel since that inaugural final, but there are a chosen few who will have seen active service in all three finals.

The 2019 Final At Franklins Gardens

Despite a much more competitive Premier 15s league this season, it is once again Harlequins and Saracens that battle it out for the trophy at Kinsholm on Sunday, will it be third time lucky for Quins ?, we shall find out very soon.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s